Why Hire a Private Editor?

For many authors, the path to publication is long and rocky. Hiring a private editor can get you over some of the bumps and maybe even get you to the finish line faster. But why, in these days of free information on the web, would anyone hire a private writing coach or pay for editorial services? Here are just a few of the reasons my clients have cited.

  • Learn-to-write articles are abstract. Private editing is concrete and deals with your specific story.
  • When you’re interested in switching genres, it helps to have a coach show you the way.
  • An experienced acquisitions editor understands how to evaluate a manuscript for publication. This is different from the way a critique group might view the same material.
  • Because of my teaching experience in both workshop and university settings, I can provide clear instruction in how to tackle manuscript problems. It’s not just about flagging a problem, but also about showing you how to fix it.

Want to learn more? Check out the pages for rates, bio, endorsements, and credits.

Please note: I am not accepting new clients unless they are direct referrals.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Why Hire a Private Editor?

  1. Wes

    Do you need any testimonials? Having you in my corner has helped me immensely. I learned a ton from your critique of the first half of my MS. When I return from Santa Fe towards the end of January, I’ll send the second half.

    Wes

  2. Hi Theresa:
    Thank you so very much for your edits on my work. Wow, did you open my eyes, and really jazz me to continue.
    I’d like to submit a full manuscript of the first ebook.
    I’ll send a follow up email with my contact info.
    Please get back with me.
    Thanks again, you’re really are good.

  3. Hi Theresa:

    Just wanted to follow-up to make sure you received my email and manuscript last week.

    Drop me a line when you get a moment.

    Thanks much,

    Liz

  4. Hello Theresa: It’s been over a year since I last contacted you (a lot due to my Dad’s passing and financed). Well things aren’t great but they’re better. I’d like to chat with you about editing my recently epubed book. It’s in a beta release, and I’d like to get a professional polish before posting to the big boy sites. Please contact me when you can. Thanks much, Liz aka Naughtie Scribe

Leave a Reply

